Taiwan relaxes visa rules for nationals of six ASEAN members and India


ROC visa rules for individuals from ASEAN member states (Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, the Philippines, and Vietnam) plus India, are being relaxed starting September 1, 2016.

The adjustments come following the consultations between the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the National Immigration Agency, and the Tourism Bureau which aims to furthering the interactions with the 10 members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations. At present, nationals of Brunei, Malaysia, Singapore, and Thailand enjoy visa-free entry to Taiwan.

Passport holders from Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, the Philippines, and Vietnam who hold permanent resident certificates issued by Australia, Canada, Japan, Korea, New Zealand, Schengen Agreement signatories, the United Kingdom, or the United States, or hold a visa or a resident card from one of these countries either is valid or expired within 10 years from the date of expected arrival in Taiwan, will now be eligible to use the Online Application for R.O.C. (Taiwan) Travel Authorization Certificate (https://niaspeedy.immigration.gov.tw/nia_southeast/). Eligible applicants will be issued multiple-entry visas valid for three months, allowing single stays of up to 30 days.

Moreover, to expand the numbers of countries benefiting from simplified visa regulations for distinguished group tourists from Southeast and South Asian nations, the one-stop online application is being made available to eligible tourist groups from Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, the Philippines, and Vietnam, plus India, from September 1, 2016 Travel agencies representing tourist groups from the above-mentioned countries can file applications via https://visawebapp.boca.gov.tw/BOCA_MRVWeb/ after receiving a permit from the Tourism Bureau’s overseas offices. A 30-day single-entry eVisa will be issued to the qualified members of the group.

These two measures to relax ROC visa rules for the nationals of these six Southeast Asian countries and India are a follow-up to a trial program that offered 30-day visa-free treatment to nationals of Thailand and Brunei which was implemented on August 1, 2016. On that same day, MOFA instructed its offices in Southeast Asian countries to take measures to issue multiple-entry visas with validity of at least two years to middle-class nationals of their host countries.

These programs are expected to attract more travelers to Taiwan for short-term tourism, business, visits to relatives, and cultural exchanges. MOFA aims to further increase interactions between Taiwan and ASEAN member states, as well as India, while implementing a people-centered “New Southbound Policy”.