Taipei Economic and Cultural Office was set up on October 22, 1991. The representative office of TECO in Canada is located in Ottawa with the aim to promote bilateral trade, investment, culture, science and technology exchanges and cooperation, as well as better understanding between Taiwan and Canada.



TECO in Canada currently has six divisions. Functions of each division are as follow:

  1. Public Affairs Division:
    Maintains contact and communication with the Canadian government and civic organizations.
  2. Services Division:
    Offers such services as issuance of travel documents, entry permits, legalization of documentations, and assistance to the expatriate community.
  3. Education Division:
    Facilitates academic and cultural exchanges and renders assistance to students from Taiwan.
  4. Economic Division:
    Promotes two-way trade and investment activities.
  5. Information Division:
    Provides public information and maintains media liaison.
  6. Science & Technology Division:
    Promotes science and technology exchanges and cooperation in research.

In addition, TECO maintains an office in Toronto which promotes relation with Ontario, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, and Manitoba. The TECO office in Vancouver offers to same services to British Columbia, Saskatchewan, Alberta, Northwest Territories, Yukon Territory, and Nunavut Territory. The TECO Office in Ottawa maintains relations with the Greater Ottawa region, Quebec, and Newfoundland and Labrador.