About us

The Republic of China (Taiwan)  is located in the Pacific Ocean about 160 km off the southeastern coast of the Chinese mainland with a population of 23 million. Taiwan is a multi-party, fully-fledged democratic country with all public officials from president to county magistrates directly elected by the people.
We maintained full diplomatic ties with New Zealand until New Zealand government switched recognition to the People's Republic of China in 1972. However, to enhance trade relations between Taiwan and New Zealand, our government established the East Asian Trade Center in Auckland in 1973, which is the current Taipei Economic and Cultural Office (TECO) in Auckland.
TECO in Auckland represents the Republic of China (Taiwan) in the regions north of Taupo, and has the same function as a consulate general, we serve and protect the interests and welfare of the Republic of China citizens in New Zealand. We also promote economic, trade, cultural, educational, scientific, financial, and other exchanges and cooperation between Taiwan and New Zealand.